Hey There…

Standard

Image

I am Marie. I am a Christian, writer, pastry chef, something of an artist, music lover, avid reader, and movie watcher.

I’ve been a Christian since the summer of 2006. I got saved at my church camp July 11th, 2006. Sadly, the reason this date is seared in my memory is because the very next day, Suzanne and I got lost in the woods for eight hours with five guys, but as Michael Ende so wisely said, “But that is another story and shall be told another time.”

Suzanne had an idea about a story that she wanted to write, and she would tell me about all of her stories. One day at work, I was listening to “Midnight Well” (by Celtic Thunder) and it made me think of her story. I thought about it for the hours that remained at work and when I got home I was typing furiously on my computer for about two hours writing down my plot line. Suzanne loved it, and then asked me to help her write Poisoned, the first of many books we will write together. At first, I was shocked. I’m not a writer, I was mediocre in English during high school. Thankfully, she gave me time to think about it, and now this is one of the best decisions I have made.

As you may have read on the “About Us” page, I am a pastry chef, which is awesome! I love baking things and decorating cakes. Not only is it loads of fun to cook/bake, but you also know the saying “The way to a man’s heart is through is stomach.” Yeah, no. That should be changed to “The way to everyone on Planet Earth’s heart is through their stomach,” because honestly, who doesn’t love food?

Um, the artist bit…I like to doodle or sketch our characters from the Enchanted Saga. I recently have drawn the map of our country, Thíortha, which turned out well.

MUSIC! I love music. My favorite artists definitely are Michael Bublé (who my family likes to torment me by pronouncing Bubble), the aforementioned Celtic Thunder, Bing Crosby, Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra,  and Josh Turner.

Reading, also something I love! I am currently (and slowly) working on The Simarillion, which is taking me forever. I am enjoying it, however, I just have a book list that I’ve been working on for over a year that I would like to finish. It probably doesn’t help that I keep adding to the list, but that’s neither here nor there. As hard as it is to choose a favorite book, I will do my best. My favorite single book is The Neverending Story by Michael Ende; and my favorite book series is The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. I think the reason why they are my favorite are as follows: The Neverending Story, It always intrigued me that one could be transported through the pages of a book (which is also why I like The Ink Trilogy), and The Inheritance Cycle was my gateway to the fantasy genre.

I cannot tell you my favorite movie, mainly because I do not have one. There are so many good ones out there I just can’t choose, so I won’t. I love TV shows as well, and again, I can’t really say my favorite. Doctor Who, Merlin, Once Upon a Time, Psych, and Sherlock are the ones that I watch as of right now.

So that’s a little bit about me, I’m sure I’ll divulge more later! ~~Marie

Leave a Reply

